Rain in Portland, we believe you now, a raccoonaccount

Wash and I have heard a few people talking about these spontaneous Portland showers and how crazy they are, both before and we came here and during three days we’ve been here so far. And I was all like, yeah, okay, rain. I’m from Germany, I know what rain is, no need to talk about rain to me. Tell me some cool stuff! Today, however, I got to experience my first authentic Portland rain shower downtown after my first short peek at PSU. And I still say, rain is rain. Though I give it to you, Portland, yours is quite impressive. As I left the library building there was all sunshine and blue skies. Next thing I knew, there was rain coming down from multiple directions at once! It mixed and twirled in mid air in front of the windows of the skyscrapers of downtown Portland.

Wash and I hiding out from the rain at a bus stop on 6th
Wash and I hiding out from the rain at a bus stop on 6th

The pictures I took don’t nearly give this spectacle enough credit. It was like standing in front of a gigantic waterfall for a while.

The most amazing part about it, though, was the way people treated this downpour. Sure, it got chummy at the bus stops for a short while. I myself jumped into the max to avoid most of it.

Wash and I hiding from the rain inside the max
Wash and I hiding from the rain inside the max

I got off two stops down, because I didn’t really want to leave downtown (and because I was afraid of getting lost. haha.) So I waited at the stop underneath a glass roof, together with a few other people and thought I’d wait out the waterfall alongside with everyone else. Except that I seem to be more patient with rain than the average Portlander is. The streets that were almost devoid of pedestrians and bikes as the rain had first started coming down hard, was filling up again after just a few minutes. Mind you, the rain was still coming down hard. People were just walking down the street as if nothing was out of the ordinary.

Here I stood, thinking that my next stop should include a shop where I could buy an umbrella and there they walked (and biked), no umbrellas, no hats, no jackets even for some, refusing to let the rain interfere with their every day life. I can get used to crossing the street when the traffic light is still red (a thing also done frequently in Portland), but walking around int he rain in t-shirt and hot pants while texting with my phone… Not so sure.

(I got tired of waiting around after a while, too. But I chose to basically run from bus stop to bus stop to stay mostly dry.)

Wash and I managed to stay fairly dry after that big downpour
Wash and I managed to stay fairly dry after that big downpour
Leave a Reply

