Home (language) away from home, a raccoonaccount

Wash and I have been spending a lot of time on our own lately. To tell you the truth, neither Wash nor I have ever needed very much alone time in the past. I grew up with two older sisters, a social mom and a very caring stay-at-home dad, and moved on to live with other people ever since. Wash was the fifth of five baby raccoons born from a wildling mother and a movie star pet father, you don’t want to get him started on what it means to share a room…

So while we do appreciate a couple of uninterrupted hours of Netflix, watching stuff, we’re pretty much okay with having someone around to engage with. Well, at least we used to be. These past few days Wash and I have come to recognize the quality time spent on our own can posses. There is so much more space for your mind to wonder if it isn’t occupied by another person.

However, after a while too much of a new thing can be bad for you sometimes, so I dragged Wash away from Netflix and out into the world again. I poked around for some fun stuff to do in Portland on the internet and wound up finding  something to sooth our heartache for our now second home country. Portland, it seems, has a rather big German community, with German-American schools, German lifestyle magazines, German Stammtische and, to Wash and my great delight, the annual German Film Festival right around the corner! But what kind of a German-American would I be, if I only went as a spectator and not also get involved as a volunteer.

Rocking the volunteer look (though my awesome badge is missing in that ensemble). Got to keep the t-shirt!
Rocking the volunteer look (though my awesome badge is missing in that ensemble). Got to keep the t-shirt!
They've got some pretty cool stuff still going on till Tuesday!
They’ve got some pretty cool stuff still going on till Tuesday!

So on this weekend, after a pleasant email exchange with the very kind and funny organizer of the event, Yvonne, Wash and I spent the last two days will calling, tearing off tickets, asking people to keep moving, chatting with other volunteers whose German was better than my English, and watching films in my other native languages.

One of my duties as a volunteer at the German Film Festival, getting that Condor plane up it the air ;) (they auctioned off tickets)
One of my duties as a volunteer at the German Film Festival, getting that Condor plane up it the air 😉
(they auctioned off tickets)

The German Film Festival will continue for another two days (until Sep 29th) without me, as university duties and my very bad cold keep Wash and me from helping. It was nice however, if only for a few hours, to be reminded of the fact that other people actually speak German, too, and that it is not something Wash and I just made up.

Leave a Reply

